About Fordatis

 

General information

Fordatis is the institutional research data repository of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. It is operated and provided by the Research Services & Open Science Competence Center (Operator) at the Fraunhofer Information Center for Planning and Building IRB on behalf of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.

The aim of Fordatis is to provide a platform to grant access to valuable research data and to facilitate the availability of this data. It can be used by Fraunhofer scientists uploading content to the Fordatis repository and by third parties downloading and subsequently using data.

Content

Fordatis is a repository for research data created at the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft- that has been or is yet to be published. This is understood to mean data that has been compiled in connection with scientific research at the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Negative results and data that do not result in a publication can also be published. For data to be published, all authors of the data must consent and have the rights to publish it. Personal data may be submitted to Fordatis only after it has been thoroughly anonymized or with the consent of the individuals affected. Research records are stored in the system as items. Each item is composed of a descriptive metadata record and the uploaded files.

Registration

Fordatis is free of charge for all Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft employees and their project partners. A Shibboleth connection automatically gives all Fraunhofer employees a user account with the right to submit data. Users log in with a PKI card by clicking on the submissions function. Files larger than 5 GB may not be uploaded via the web interface. If your file exceeds this limit, please contact Support at fordatis-support@fraunhofer.de.

Quality control

The Research Services & Open Science Competence Center provides Fordatis as a system for publishing research data. This data is submitted by researchers, together with descriptive metadata.  The quality of the metadata is reviewed first by the institutes themselves (scientific information manager/libraries), then by the Research Services & Open Science Competence Center. The Research Services & Open Science Competence Center reserves the right to refuse to accept data if it does not conform to the purpose of the Fordatis collection or if the metadata is inaccurate. In such a case, items may be returned to the data producers for revision. The Research Services & Open Science Competence Center does not and is not obligated to undertake any scientific review of the research data content. The respective data producers themselves are responsible for this. However, the Research Services & Open Science department reserves the right to review content and to delete or remove content from the platform without prior notice if, in the department’s own judgment, it is deemed to be inappropriate content that is not related to scientific research or violates the rules of good scientific practice.

Publication of research data

The aim of Fordatis is to publish research data to make it freely and openly available over the Internet for subsequent use. After publication, submitters can no longer delete the content, but they can have it withdrawn, which means that the content is no longer visible on the Fordatis interface but is still accessible via the original link and/or DOI (together with a note from the transmitter: “This content was withdrawn”).

Authors are obligated to clarify any potential third-party rights prior to publication. If authors become aware of the existence or the emergence of legal obstacles, they must notify the Operator immediately. The Operator reserves the right to block access to a digital object if there is concrete evidence of a violation of third-party rights. The Operator is not liable for damages resulting from the infringement of copyrights and exploitation rights except in cases of proven willful misconduct or gross negligence.

The uploaded research data must generally be free from technical safeguards and digital rights management (DRM) methods.

Publication on Fordatis requires that authors permanently transfer the non-exclusive right of reproduction and provision of public access to the Operator (Research Services & Open Science department). Without limitation, before or after the publication, authors are free to publish the research results elsewhere in print or electronically, optionally modified or in extracts.

The transfer of the non-exclusive right of use permanently entitles the Operator of Fordatis to:

  • • make electronic copies of the digital object publicly available (where applicable upon expiration of any embargo period) and, if necessary, modify it (in terms of form) so that it can be reproduced on future computer systems. This authorization excludes any modification of the content of the digital object This right applies to all known and as yet unknown types of use.  

  • • to report and transfer the digital objects to third parties, for instance in connection with national collection mandates, especially for the purpose of long-term archival or for reporting to OpenAIRE. 

  • • transfer the agreed rights and obligations to another repository (e.g., a potential successor repository of Fordatis). It also entitles the Operator to charge a third party with the public provision of the digital object (e.g., to provide it at a facility specializing in long-term availability). 

To settle the transfer of the requisite rights of use from authors to the Operator, prior to publication, any document provided must be submitted to the Research Services & Open Science department (fordatis-support@fraunhofer.de) together with the transfer of the non-exclusive rights of use.

Without limitation, authors are free to establish an embargo period for research data. During the embargo, only the metadata will be publicly available, not the research data itself. Upon expiration of the embargo, the data is automatically released and will then be freely available on the Internet.

Licensing of research data

During the Fordatis publishing process, data must be covered by a license. To this end, various preselected licenses are made available in the publishing process. By uploading content to the Fordatis repository, the transmitter agrees that the research data may be used by third parties in accordance with the license issued.

Long-term preservation of research data

Content that has been published will be stored and made available for a period of at least ten years. The Operator will make every reasonable effort to ensure the long-term storage or archival of the digital object. The Operator cannot be held responsible for the loss or damage of the digital object or other associated data.

Subsequent use of research data

All data that is uploaded to Fordatis without an embargo date is available for subsequent use by third parties. The type of subsequent use permitted is governed by the issuance of a license.  By downloading the data, users assume full responsibility for the use of the data. They are obligated to comply with the license terms of the corresponding record.

Operation

Fordatis is provided “as is” and “as available.” Its Operator (the Research Services & Open Science Competence Center) agrees to:

  • • store the data on Fraunhofer-owned servers in Germany (provided by the ZV-C7 department)  

  • • ensure that the data is backed up regularly 

  • • archive the data for at least ten years

Über Fordatis

 

Allgemeines

Fordatis ist das institutionelle Forschungsdaten-Repositorium der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Es dient zur Veröffentlichung von Forschungsdaten. Es wird vom Competence Center Research Services & Open Science (Betreiber) am Fraunhofer-Informationszentrum Raum und Bau IRB im Auftrag der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft betrieben und zur Verfügung gestellt.

Ziel von Fordatis ist es, eine Plattform zu bieten, um Zugang zu wertvollen Forschungsdaten zu gewähren und die Zugänglichkeit dieser Daten zu ermöglichen. Es kann durch das Hochladen von Inhalten in das Fordatis-Repositorium durch Fraunhofer-Wissenschaftler und durch das Herunterladen und Nachnutzen von Daten durch Dritte verwendet werden.

Inhalt

Fordatis ist ein Repositorium für veröffentlichte und zu veröffentlichende Forschungsdaten der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Darunter werden Daten verstanden, die im Rahmen wissenschaftlicher Forschung in der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft erstellt werden. Auch negative Ergebnisse und Daten, die nicht zu einer Publikation führen, können veröffentlicht werden. Die Voraussetzung für eine Datenveröffentlichung ist, dass alle Datenautoren zustimmen und über die Rechte für eine Veröffentlichung verfügen. Personenbezogene Daten dürfen nur nach absoluter Anonymisierung oder mit Zustimmung der betroffenen Personen in Fordatis eingestellt werden. Die Forschungsdatensätze werden als sogenannte „Items“ im System abgelegt: Diese setzten sich jeweils aus einem beschreibenden Metadatensatz und den hochgeladenen Dateien zusammen.

Registrierung

Fordatis ist für alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und deren Projektpartner kostenlos. Alle Fraunhofer-Mitarbeiter erhalten automatisch über eine Shibboleth-Anbindung einen Nutzer-Account mit dem Recht, Daten einzustellen. Der Login erfolgt beim Klicken auf die Funktion „Beiträge“ per PKI-Karte. Dateien, die größer als 5 GB sind, können nicht über die Web-Schnittstelle hochgeladen werden. Bitte kontaktieren Sie in solchen Fällen den Support unter fordatis-support@fraunhofer.de.

Qualitätskontrolle

Das Competence Center Research Services & Open Science stellt mit Fordatis ein System für das Veröffentlichen von Forschungsdaten bereit. Diese werden zusammen mit beschreibenden Metadaten von den Wissenschaftlern eingestellt.  Die Qualität der Metadaten wird in erster Instanz von den Instituten selbst (Datenkurator) und in zweiter Instanz vom Competence Center Research Services & Open Science überprüft. Das Competence Center Research Services & Open Science behält sich das Recht vor, die Annahme von Daten zu verweigern, wenn diese nicht dem Sammelzweck von Fordatis entsprechen oder die Metadaten fehlerhaft sind. In so einem Fall können Items zur Bearbeitung an die Datenerzeuger zurückgesendet werden. Das Competence Center Research Services & Open Science führt keine fachliche Kontrolle der Forschungsdateninhalte durch und ist nicht verpflichtet, dies zu tun. Hier sind die jeweiligen Datenerzeuger selbst verantwortlich. Allerdings behält sich die Abteilung Research Services & Open Science das Recht vor, Inhalte zu überprüfen und Inhalte ohne vorherige Ankündigung von der Plattform zu löschen oder zu entfernen, falls es nach eigenem Ermessen als unangemessener Inhalt betrachtet wird, der nicht in Beziehung zu wissenschaftlicher Forschung steht oder gegen die Regeln der guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis verstößt.

Veröffentlichung von Forschungsdaten

Das Ziel von Fordatis ist es, Forschungsdaten zu veröffentlichen und diese frei und offen über das Internet zur Nachnutzung zur Verfügung zu stellen. Nach der Veröffentlichung hat der Einreicher keine Möglichkeit mehr, den Inhalt zu löschen, aber er kann ihn zurückziehen lassen, was bedeutet, dass der Inhalt nicht mehr auf der Fordatis-Oberfläche sichtbar ist, aber immer noch über seinen ursprünglichen Link und / oder DOI (zusammen mit einem Kommentar des Übermittlers „Dieser Inhalt wurde zurückgezogen) aufrufbar ist.

Den Urheberinnen und Urhebern obliegt die Pflicht, vor der Veröffentlichung eventuell betroffene Rechte Dritter zu klären. Erhält die Urheberin oder der Urheber Kenntnis vom Bestehen oder der Entstehung von Rechtshindernissen, setzt sie bzw. er den Betreiber unverzüglich davon in Kenntnis. Der Betreiber behält sich das Recht vor, den Zugriff auf ein digitales Objekt zu sperren, sofern konkrete Anhaltspunkte für eine Verletzung von Rechten Dritter bestehen. Der Betreiber haftet nicht für aus der Verletzung von Urheber- und Verwertungsrechten resultierende Schäden, sofern kein nachweislich vorsätzliches oder grob fahrlässiges Verschulden vorliegt.

Die hochgeladenen Forschungsdaten müssen grundsätzlich frei von technischen Schutzvorrichtungen und Verfahren des Digitalen Rechtemanagements (DRM) sein.

Eine Veröffentlichung auf Fordatis setzt die dauerhafte Übertragung des einfachen Rechts auf Vervielfältigung und öffentliche Zugänglichmachung durch die Urheberinnen und Urheber an den Betreiber (Abteilung Research Services & Open Science) voraus. Es steht den Urheberinnen und Urhebern uneingeschränkt frei, das Forschungsergebnis vor oder nach dem Erscheinen, gegebenenfalls verändert oder in Auszügen, anderweitig gedruckt oder elektronisch zu veröffentlichen.

Die Übertragung des einfachen Nutzungsrechtes berechtigt den Betreiber von Fordatis dauerhaft:

  • • Elektronische Kopien des digitalen Objekts öffentlich zugänglich zu machen (ggf. nach Ablauf einer evtl. Embargofrist) und es, wenn nötig, (in formaler Hinsicht) zu verändern, damit es auf zukünftigen Rechnersystemen wiedergegeben werden kann. Diese Genehmigung schließt eine inhaltliche Veränderung des digitalen Objekts aus. Das Recht gilt für alle bekannten sowie für alle noch nicht bekannten Nutzungsarten.  

  • • Zur Meldung und Weitergabe der digitalen Objekte an Dritte u. a. im Rahmen nationaler Sammelaufträge, insbesondere zum Zwecke der Langzeitarchivierung oder zur Meldung an OpenAIRE. 

  • • Die vereinbarten Rechte und Pflichten auf ein anderes Repositorium (z. B. potenzielles Nachfolgerepositorium von Fordatis) zu übertragen. Es berechtigt den Betreiber auch, einen Dritten mit der öffentlichen Bereitstellung des digitalen Objekts zu beauftragen (z. B. zur Bereitstellung bei einer auf Langzeitverfügbarkeit spezialisierten Einrichtung). 

Um die Übertragung der erforderlichen Nutzungsrechte von den Urheberinnen und Urhebern auf den Betreiber zu regeln, ist es notwendig vor der Veröffentlichung der Abteilung Research Services & Open Science (fordatis-support@fraunhofer.de) ein entsprechendes bereitgestelltes Dokument mit der Übertragung der einfachen Nutzungsrechte zukommen zu lassen.                                                                                                  

Es steht den Urheberinnen und Urhebern uneingeschränkt frei, Forschungsdaten mit einer Embargofrist zu versehen. Während des Embargos sind lediglich die Metadaten, nicht aber die Forschungsdaten selbst, öffentlich zugänglich. Nach Ablauf des Embargos werden die Daten automatisch freigeschaltet und sind dann im Internet frei zugänglich.

Lizenzierung von Forschungsdaten

Während des Veröffentlichungsprozesses in Fordatis besteht die Verpflichtung, den Daten eine Lizenz zuzuweisen. Dafür werden im Veröffentlichungsprozess verschiedene vorausgewählte Lizenzen zur Verfügung gestellt. Durch das Hochladen von Inhalten in das Repositorium Fordatis stimmt der Übermittler zu, dass die Forschungsdaten entsprechend der vergebenen Lizenz von Dritten nachgenutzt werden dürfen.

Langzeitarchivierung von Forschungsdaten

Inhalte, die einmal veröffentlicht wurden, werden aufbewahrt und mindestens 10 Jahre lang verfügbar gemacht. Der Betreiber unternimmt für die langfristige Speicherung bzw. Archivierung des digitalen Objekts jeden angemessenen Aufwand. Für Verlust oder Beschädigung des digitalen Objekts oder anderer verbundener Daten kann der Betreiber nicht verantwortlich gemacht werden.

Nachnutzung von Forschungsdaten

Alle in Fordatis hochgeladenen Daten, die mit keinem Embargo-Datum versehen sind, stehen der Nachnutzung durch Dritte zur Verfügung. Die Art der erlaubten Nachnutzung wird durch die Vergabe einer Lizenz geregelt.  Durch das Herunterladen der Daten übernimmt der Nutzer die volle Verantwortung für die Verwendung der Daten. Er ist verpflichtet die Lizenz-Bestimmungen des entsprechenden Datensatzes einzuhalten.

Betrieb

Fordatis wird auf der Basis "wie besehen" und "wie verfügbar" angeboten. Sein Betreiber (das Competence Center Research Services & Open Science) stimmt zu:

  • • Die Daten auf Fraunhofer-eigenen Servern in Deutschland (bereitgestellt durch die Abteilung ZV-C7) zu speichern.  

  • • Darauf zu achten, dass die Daten regelmäßig gesichert werden. 

  • • Die Daten für mindestens 10 Jahre zu archivieren.